Author Topic: only shot my ultra about 40 rds before went to the factor...  (Read 7583 times)

Offline 870 expressmag

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
so i am still new to this whole H&R thing....i shot 40 rds through my heavy 223 ultra before sending it to the factory for the 308 and 270 ultra comp.....so i have been reading..asking..reading..reading..did i mention reading?  and havn't been able to put any of this info to good use yet since i have not yet recieved the rifle back....quickdtoo seems to be the one that responds to me most as well as a few others who offer excellent welcomed advice! Thanks......

now...i been reading about this polishing of the bore and chamber? is this required for good shooting and groups?  i am one of those skittish people who doesn;t like to modify stuff much or do things like that (i get nervous easy!  :shock: )   i have had the stuck casing problem with my 223 but i am not sure if it was because i was using 5.56 ammo to start with..since i switched to .223rem ammo i have not had the problem....so what i am asking is...is it required for them to be good shooters? (and who lives close to S.E.Michigan whos got experience doing it  :lol: )

Offline quickdtoo

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (149)
only shot my ultra about 40 rds before went
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2005, 02:08:31 PM »
Generally speaking, the rimless calibers have a tendacy to have stuck cases, the chamber polish eliminates or reduces this occurence, which most attribute to the chamber being left somewhat rough from the factory. The bore polishing lapping reduces the required break in which is normal for any new factory bore. The effects of shooting 150-200 rounds is easily accomplished by polishing/lapping the bore and shooting 40-50 rounds....or less!!

Tim
"Always do right, this will gratify some and astonish the rest" -  Mark Twain

Offline 870 expressmag

• Avid Poster
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2005, 02:42:06 PM »